Otis Graduate Studios – Culver City – December 2013

The Otis Graduate Students studying in the Fine Arts Program, as well as the second-year of the Public Practice Program, have personal studio spaces at Culver City location on West Jefferson Blvd.  Here students cultivate a community, listen to visiting artist’s lectures, hold critiques, and invite the public in for occasional Open Studio events.  I visited with a few of the current students, listed below, in December 2013.

FINE ARTS

Shiva Aliabadi: www.shiva-aliabadi.com

Shiva Aliabadi’s work reveals time and the essence that nothing is permanent.  Using pigment dyes and other materials, she exposes remnants and traces of skin and degradation.

Kristy Baltezore: www.kristybaltezore.org

Kristy Baltezore explores reality and the spaces of things unseen.  Her seemingly simple piece, incorporating a balloon floating over a fan, allows the viewer a certain meditative space to contemplate the forces of cause and effect.

Bryan Bankston: www.bankstonphotography.com

Bryan Bankston explores the art of portraiture as well as the image saturation of the Internet.  His painterly-style prints are actually hundreds of portraits superimposed on top of one another.

Katy Cowan: www.katycowan.com

Sean Cully: seancully.wordpress.com

Sean Cully uses all natural, found materials.  His work is about about labor and beauty in the natural world.

Andrew Currey: www.andrewkcurrey.com

Andrew Currey uses graphite drawings of armor, HAZMAT suits, and the like, to explore the, “institution of masculinity” as he describes it. Through this process he reveals the absurdity of emotional defense.

Janet Dandridge : www.evorevophoto.com

Janet Dandridge’s studio was full of current work, including that which confronts racism and identity-issues within the African American community.

David Del Francia: www.daviddf.com

David Del Francia grew up in Los Angeles, his practice can be described as encounters with objects, creating a shift in perspective of our everyday lives.

Marcela Gottardo: www.marcelagottardo.com

Marcela Gottardo uses plaster molds and photography in her work and much of her content comes from process.

Marissa Johnen: www.mjohnen.com

Amanda Katz: www.amandakatz.com

Allison Peck: www.parkfineartgallery.com/galleries/apeck/apeck_gal.php

Sweet Samsonova: www.artsland/sweet-samson.com

Yasmin Than: www.yasminthan.com

Rebecca Tull Yates: rebeccatullyates.tumblr.com

Rebecca Tull Yates was gearing up for her upcoming thesis show when I visited her studio.  She describes her work as, “a vessel that turns attention inward to a realm that exists only between spaces.”

PUBLIC PRACTICE

Lili Bernard: www.lilibernard.com

Lili Bernard’s painting and videos have been exhibited in many venues. Recently, Shakti Productions in Guadeloupe featured her in their documentary series, “Women of the West Indies Diaspora.” It will be screened as an official selection, in February 2014, at the Pan African Film Festival in Los Angeles.

Estephany Campos: https://ospace.otis.edu/publicpracticeportfolio/Estephany_Campos

Daniel French: https://ospace.otis.edu/publicpracticeportfolio/Daniel_French

Nicola Goode: https://ospace.otis.edu/publicpracticeportfolio/Nicola_Goode

Nicola Goode has experience as a cinematographer and street photographer.  She has worked with LGBTQ youth, and done photo workshops with trans youth at Children’s Hospital.

Tracee Johnson: https://ospace.otis.edu/publicpracticeportfolio/Tracee_Johnson

Katie Loughmiller: https://ospace.otis.edu/publicpracticeportfolio/Katie_Loughmiller

Ale McGrew: https://ospace.otis.edu/publicpracticeportfolio/Ale_McGrew

Speak Your Mind

*

css.php